There has been so much going on that the radio silence will be explained thoroughly in this entry. 😀 I have been busy entertaining my family and myself here in Wuhan, and the last five days have been so full of activities I haven’t even had the time to check my entry read count. I felt I could use some touring around the city, since I’m as new here as they are. I only have a grasp of the campus area. (To be honest, you don’t really need to leave the university grounds, if you don’t feel like it. There are several markets, restaurants, three hotels and hospitals, several banks, sporting grounds and post offices inside the gates.) First we visited the Yellow Crane Tower, which has been a prominent landmark of Wuhan since its establishment in 223 AC, during the reign of the Three Kingdoms. According to a legend, in ancient times an old wizard rode away from this place on a yellow crane when his time had come.

There are several floors in the tower, each depicting various moments in time. The colours have symbolic meaning, and there are lots of details (slaves desperately trying to put out a raging fire, a preoccupied old man looking up to the sky with a small bird in his hand, a woman playing an old Chinese instrument while a powerful man is admiring a small box. We agreed with Mum that he’s actually taking a selfie). We also met a Taoist monk on our way back. He was very witty and kind, and we had a nice conversation (although he spoke in the Hubei dialect, which resulted in some funny moments when there were communication outages).

Another day, my family was coming to see the campus area. They stopped to ask for directions, and happened to meet the (probably) only decent English-speaking person on campus: Wen, or Wendy (most Chinese people have a Western name), an English “international culture communication” teacher, who turned out to become our friend. I turned up at my school to discover her and my family discussing the emotional nature of daughters/children travelling long distances. She is a very nice person, and we agreed that she will be my guide here in Wuhan. I’ll introduce the Western culture to her students during her lessons. We’ll see what Chinese people think of salmiakki (ammonium chloride, a Finnish sweet) and Fazer’s Blue.

We also went to explore the Guiyuan Temple situated on the Hankou side of the river. This is a popular place for wedding photo shoots (we saw several couples) and flower-arranging courses, which you can see from the pictures above. In some Chinese restaurants, the tables are arranged in a way that allows the customer to observe the food being prepared in real time. The cook places the cooked food on your table directly from the heating chassis.

Now my family has returned home with some new experiences in their pocket. We have had a lovely time exploring this city together, and I’m looking forward to new adventures.

Mili

